Baby it’s cold outside

Hello Family and Friends!

So this week was Christmas! It was so wonderful! The MTC really tried to make it special for us and they did!

So, Mr. Creedy is now 20! woohoo!!! I was able to see him on Sunday, on Tuesday, and also Wednesday! Which is so great because we never get to see each other because he lives on west campus (which is Wyview). Everyone is in love with him! The Elders and Sisters mentioned to me that he is doing a great job, they love him, and that he is just the greatest person in the world. Creed’s doing wonderful in being an example to others!

This week they really focused on Christ, of course, and they also focused on making sure that the missionaries know that this is what they are supposed to be doing. A speaker asked us the question: Is this mission about me? Or is it about them?…It for sure is about them. We are the Lord’s hands to bless others with the light of the gospel. Of course we receive blessings along the way but the mission is not about our growth, it is about how we become servants of the Lord which in turn does help us be better children of God. I LOVE THE MTC! Seriously, there is such a wonderful spirit here and I have made fast friends with my district, my companion, and others from my zone. I think we have the best zone in the whole MTC.

Sunday night Creed and I were able to meet up and go to a devotional video. It was really funny. I was sitting with him and his companion and then of course with my companion, Hoffman Chamanim, and I gave creed a side hug and some of my district were behind and they were really concerned. They told me that they were like “NOooo Orme Chamamin!” haha they were just trying to look out for me. I later explained he was my brother and they breathed a sigh of relief.

During that Devotional we watched Sister and Elder Holland speak from a previous devotional given to the MTC. It was soooo good! (of course, it’s Elder Holland). He just brings fire and brimstone to the soul. He makes you feel such a fervor of strength! He was talking about missions. Some tidbits of his talk were:

– Your every effort is to have the spirit with you.
– We want all the months and everyday of your mission to be the hardest you have worked.
– The way you come back will be altered by the way you came.
– You don’t ever want to be “normal” again
– Keep the flame of your mission in your heart
– Don’t waste your time!
– Make sure every moment counts
– Go out and astonish somebody
– Salvation is not a cheap experience

Ok I could keep going but those were just a few highlights. He is amazing and just kept that fire within me burning. I know this is what I am supposed to do and I am sooooo happy I am doing it! I feel so at peace here.

We lost a member of our district, Elder Park. 😦 He is Korean and so he already knows Korean really well and so he got moved up and he leaves Jan 11th or 13…something like that. We were sad. Now we have a district of 2 companionships, with 3 people each.

Christmas Eve we had Elder and Sister Evans of the seventy speak to us. A very big thing that stood out from him was that we are delivery men, we have something very important to bring to the world. What an amazing gift we have to have the gospel in our lives. I am so excited to share it!

In class my teacher, Sagers Chamanim (sister), showed us the videos “Waiting on the road to Damascus”, “Have I done any good today” and also “What shall we give?”. Please watch them! They all made me feel the spirit and the love that God has for us.

Christmas Eve night, after the devotional, our whole zone decided to spend time together singing Christmas songs, and taking pictures together. It was a blast!

Christmas day our speaker was ELDER BEDNAR! WoOOooH! That was wonderful! So what he did was instead of just giving us a talk, he answered questions from us. There were cell phones passed around and we all got to text him a question if we wanted and he would answer a majority of them. It was so amazing. There is so much to tell about that discussion but I am only going to share a few points.

– His favorite theme is the “One by One” theme found in 3 Nephi 11:14-17. Jesus Christ did everything one by one. He felt each and everyone’s pains, sorrows, sins, etc. He healed One by One. He prophesied one by one.
– Discouragement is a tool of the Devil (Sister Bednar)
– Life is not about avoiding sin, it is about becoming better
– The age change for the males was to bring North America up to speed with the rest of the world. Other Countries have been experimenting with the age. They found no difference between the males that left at age 18 vs. 19. For the girls they decided to bring down as well.
– The best missionaries are selfless, they pushed aside all selfishness and look beyond themselves.
– You serve two missions: One for the people you will teach and for the other missionaries
– We are called to be missionaries, then assigned to a place. You are always in the place you got to be.

I am so excited to dedicate the next 18 months of my life to the Lord. There is no better place for me. I am making everyday count!

The last activity of the day we watched last years MOTAB Christmas which, of course, was amazing! That was the one Creed, Katie, Spencer, the cousins and I went to because Maria had tickets. Some of it was about the candy bomber story. I love that story and think it is such a wonderful story of love and selflessness.

I am so happy that we were able to focus on the true meaning of Christmas. I love you all tons! Thank you for the dear elders, they really make my day. So, don’t stop! hahah.

I love my Elders (the ones in my district, I call them my Elders because I kind of take care of them ahahh) and my companion Hoffman Chomanim. They are all such wonderful people and we sooooooo much fun together and we make each other laugh all the time. I seriously can’t tell you how happy I am to be here. What a blessing. The Lord knows exactly what we need.

Well, gotta go!

LOVE YOU ALL!!!!

Love, Orme Chamay

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

