“Why are you cutting me down?”

Hello Family and Friends!!!

So, Thursdays are now my pdays. My schedule has changed. Creed’s are now Saturdays, just an fyi.

This week has just been wonderful! I love being a missionary and learning to be a better missionary. My Korean is better! Thank goodness. I still can’t believe I know so much already though. It is a blessing.

I was reading in the Bible Dictionary about Faith. Wow, it is amazing. Go read it now! I wrote in my journal my thoughts. This is what I wrote “Wow, faith is an amazing thing. Faith is so powerful. I was reading in the bible dictionary about faith. Here are some highlights. “The Lord has revealed himself and his perfect character, possessing himself and his perfect character, possessing in their fullness all the attributes of love, knowledge, justice, mercy, unchangeableness, power, and every other needful thing so as to enable the mind of man to place confidence in him without reservation….Faith is a principle of action and of power…since true faith always moves its possessor to some kind of physical and mental action: it carries an assurance of the fulfillment of the things hoped for. A lack of faith leads one to despair, which comes because of iniquity…although faith is a gift, it must be cultured and sought after…”. Faith is so powerful. Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ can help us with our faith. As we strive to do the best we can Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ will help with the rest. We are capable to have the power of God. Faith can sometimes be cut down or obliterated but as long as we keep going we can pick ourselves back up again. It reminds me of the analogy of the tree and the woodsman…The tree keeps getting cut down, grows some more, then cut down again. The tree asks the woodsman why do you keep cutting me down? The woodsmen says “I am cutting you down to make you stronger. I am cutting you down because I love you. Because of me cutting you down you become strong and more firm about who you are and what you can become.” Sometimes things happen. Sometimes we are cut down. Sometimes we feel small. Sometimes we feel alone. But heavenly Father knows us and loves us. He gives us challenges so we can grow. He makes our weak things become strong. He knows we can handle it. He knows we can overcome. He never gives us anything that we can’t overcome. That is why God is so good. He knows us. As we do this we become more like him and come closer to him. “Fear not, neither be faint-hearted” (Isaiah 7:4).

I love the gospel and know it is true with all my heart! Heavenly Father is there for you and he loves you dearly. He wants all of us to return to him.

What is even more awesome is after that we had a mission conference on Sunday since it was fast Sunday. Brother and Sister Johnson spoke. Brother Johnson’s mission president was President Groberg (The Other Side of Heaven story). They had some really good points that just enhanced my love of faith.

– Our finest hour could follow our darkest hour. Tough times don’t last, tough people do.
– God will not allow you to fail as long as you remain obedient.
– Whom the Lord calls, he qualifies, he will not allow you to fail.

They were amazing!!! Such great inspiration from these two.

So, of course language study cannot move forward without another funny. During our lesson with an investigator we were talking about prophets. I meant to share the scripture Amos 3:7 which is a nice simple little scripture about prophets. Well, instead of that one I shared Amos 2:7. Read it. It is hilarious! She was so confused and we didn’t know until after. We just responded like “yeah prophets are cool, we don’t know what you are asking.” Haha. Our class died laughing when we found out. I am so happy these things are happening in the MTC not in the field. But I feel like it is inevitable in the field to happen. I am glad that I can bring so much joy to my district with my funnies.

Today we went to the temple for the first time in a while. It was amazing!!!!! I love the temple and felt the spirit so strongly. It was so wonderful to be back in the temple. I missed it so much. Not being able to go for a while was terrible. I know I will have to get used to it, since I will only ever go to the temple, besides in the mtc, on my mission once at the end of my mission. I am so grateful that the temple is so close and that we get to go once a week! It is the best.

Well, I love you tons!! I am going to send pics in a few minutes. Hopefully, we will see. If not, definitely next week for sure.

Love, Orme Chamay

p.s. thank you for all of your letters!! they are the greatest and I get so pumped when I get them! I love reading about everyone’s lives.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

