Week 19- “If ye love me, Keep my Commandments”

Hello Family and Friends!

 

There is so much that I want to say. It is crazy amazing to be here in 밀양 (Miryang). It is seriously sooooooooo small and so country. We only have about 25 active members in our branch. It is sooooooo small. I really didn’t understand how small it was until I went to church on sunday. Not all 25 come at once though, so it is even smaller. I absolutely love it though.

The Elders and us in Shinjeong
DSC08566

 

In front of our Church building in Shinkeong
DSC08581
황태숙 (Hwangtehsook) and Jordan! I love them!
DSCF5682
The first Monday I got here, it rained so hard after we were emailing and some really nice people from the city hall let us borrow an umbrella. After emailing we went and met the Branch President and family and taught a lesson, we came home and there was no electricity! It was soo fun! It was sooo stormy out side and no power. what an adventure! Thank goodness dad taught me to always have a flashlight with me! So we planned in the dark with my flashlight and got ready for bed. we left the switches on so at around 11 or so the lights turned on. so scary. it woke us both up and surprised us so bad! we couldn’t stop laughing.
Our investigators in Shinjeong.
 DSC08472
There are only about 2 buses here and so a 30 minute walk anywhere is really short for us. Sometimes we have to walk 30-50 minutes to get to an appointment.

 

This week was super fun! Seriously, I love being companions with Sister Johnson. She is hilarious!

 

This last Friday we went out with a member and we ate something interesting. Can anyone take a guess? I think I have finally experienced more of Korea’s culture……. We ate Dog Soup and Dog meat. It wasn’t bad. The dog meat is super fatty! So gross. So, I took off the fat and only ate the meat. The smell was really gross though and it sometimes tasted like this: imagine the smell of wet dog….Yep….that is how it smelled and how that fat tasted like. Super gross. What I did with the meat is I would put this really delicious bean past on it, put a piece of ginger and swish the meat around in this sauce. It actually would taste pretty good! But the soup was interesting. A lot of green things that tasted funny. Wasn’t sure what kind of veggie it was. Definitely seaweed and some other things. When I first started eating I didn’t realize how gross the fat was and one of the Korean elders asked in English if we had prayed for Spot. I totally gagged because I was trying to chew that fat but it wasn’t working and i started thinking about it too much. We were laughing so hard though. It was a fun experience! But I don’t want to eat it again. 🙂

Saying goodbye to Sister and President Gilbert.
IMG_0745

Eating Dog! Waaahh!
 IMG_0768IMG_0769
My last weekend in Shinjeong we went to a wedding! So fun!
 DSC08490    DSC08479
After we ate with him we helped him out on his farm. He has about 6-8 horses, a small ankle biter dog, and a bear dog. He is HUGE!!! Seriously he is a bear. His name is the greatest though, it is Kahn. Totally fits him. We got to help him out and it was really fun. We had a blast! While the Elders and the member went and dropped off the horse extras we had to wash Kahn. Wow, it was so fun! First time ever eating a dog and also first time ever washing a dog. Our whole day was filled with dog. Now, when I see dogs all I can think is “We just ate your cousin.” I still can’t believe it happened but it was sooooo fun!

 

On Sunday we went and taught a less active but she is basically an investigator. She doesn’t know anything! She said that I looked like a doll and apparently Sister Johnson looks like Jesus on the front cover of the plan of salvation pamphlet. We about died.

 

This week, I was reading this talk in General Conference about  “If ye love me, keep my commandments”. I don’t have the article with me right now so I can’t remember the speaker…sorry… but I loved it! I think it is so simple. If you love Christ and Heavenly Father you will do what they say, if not you won’t. There is no middle ground, there is only one side or the other. I love how black and white it is. But it is soooo true! No one who truly loves Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ would completely deny them. Of course, we are human and we make mistakes but it is our mistakes that make us better and we get to experience the love of our Father in Heaven and Savior. “If ye love me, keep my commandments.” If we keep this simple saying in our heart, we will be able to get Christ into our hearts and expand it toward others.

 

I love being a missionary! I love Miryang! I can’t wait to show you around and to show you how pretty it is! I love the Lord and I know this is his work.

 

I LOVE YOU ALL! 살앙해요!!!!!

 

Love, Sister Orme 옴 자매
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

