Week 46- Happy New Year’s!

Hello Wonderful Family and Friends!!
Wow, time flies way too fast and I wish it would go slower. Happy New Year to everyone!
This week was amazing! Full of miracles, as usual. Everyday is a miracle!
Every week for service we work at this old people’s therapy center. I can’t quite say it right in English. It is a place where really old people go to receive therapy, do activities, and eat some food. It is a wonderful place! The old people are just the CUTEST things ever. They are always asking us questions and talking to us or telling us we are beautiful. I love them. A lot of them have Alzheimer’s or dementia or something else in that category. They ask us the same things or say the same things all the time. They just love us and they always stare at us or talk to us when we are with them. It is such a joy and highlight of the day to serve them. We help them with crafts, their therapy, moving them around, and feeding them. I love it! I am always excited to come! I am sad this week we can’t go because we have a zone meeting. But I just want to say that I thought I loved people before my mission but I love them even more so now! They are just so stinkin’ cute, so kind, and so happy even though they can’t do everything themselves. One grandma she was kind of a grump but now she loves us and smiles more.
The Sunrise!
 DSCF7956
Another One. So beautiful, right?
DSCF7947
Everyone is wanting to hear about New Years day, so I will tell you how we celebrated it in Korea. It was amazing! What most Koreans do is wake up super early to hike a mountain or go somewhere beautiful to see the sunrise of the new year. We went to the beautiful beach. It was absolutely freezing but completely worth it. We were with one of our branches, the Keojeong branch. We woke up at 4:30 am! Super early, we were exhausted by the end of the day. We ate some dokgook (which is a traditional soup with rice cake, seaweed, and other deliciousness), and sang some hymns with the branch. Then we all watched the sunrise together. It was absolutely BEAUTIFUL! I will share some photos below.
We saw many miracles this week. We have had less actives calling us all throughout the week. These less actives have never ever called us. They called us for advice and for different things. We were soooo grateful because these less actives are reaching out to us. Heavenly Father is helping us out so much!
Something that I have been really thinking about this week is change and also having enough humility to change for the better. There are a lot of people that I see around me that are not willing to change because they don’t think the small little things will make a difference in their life. Also I have been thinking about how simple the gospel is. I think people overlook it too much and that is where doubt, despair, questions, rationalization, sin, and stagnation start springing into existence. The answers to all of the primary questions are true. If you read the scriptures, pray, go to church, and follow the commandments, it makes a world of a difference. All of them are important but when there is not one being done, eventually all the rest follow, then people become unhappy and stuck. I am so grateful that I have been taught that. I could not imagine the world without the gospel. The talk “Which Way do you Face?”  By Elder Lynn G. Robbins addresses this perfectly. Which way are you facing? You cannot follow two masters, you can only serve one. If you are not serving one, you are serving the other one. It is black and white. That is how our decisions are.
here is the link:
There are two quotes that I want to share:
“Courage is not just one of the cardinal virtues, but as C. S. Lewis observed: “Courage is … the form of every virtue at the testing point.”
-Do we have the courage to make the right decision? Do we have the courage to follow the Lord rather than the ways of men even if there is an earthly consequence attached?
“Trying to please others before pleasing God is inverting the first and second great commandments. It is forgetting which way we face. And yet, we have all made that mistake because of the fear of men.”
-Are we pleasing God in our decisions that we make?
I have been trying to think of ways that I can improve and ways that I can stretch but also Heavenly Father pulls and stretches me in ways that I never thought possible. I am grateful for this time of year because we are able to reflect again on our decisions and how our life is. I am grateful that we can start basically clean and new and become better. It never hurts to want to be better. ^^
I am so grateful for you and for all the prayers and support you give me. I can feel them and they have been manifested in all of the miracles we have been receiving. I know that the Lord is always on our side when we face him with our hearts, mind, and spirit.
I LOVE YOU ALL!

I hope everyone has an amazing new year! I also hope that we all strive to be better, kinder, stronger, and better!

You are all the best!
Love, Sister Orme
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

