Week 42- Obedience and Humility

Hello Most Wonderful Family and Friends in the whole wide world!!
We had a super fun Solar party with our two branches! A lot of people came and it was soooo fun! We had a lot of traditional food and played a lot of traditional games. I am so happy and grateful that it turned out so well.
All of the other party pictures are kind of blurry but this one turned out well. She is our recent convert and she just got accepted to BYU! So fun!
DSCF8024
As always life is amazing and wonderful! We are working hard and trying to find new people. We have some good investigators but their main interest is English, so we are also trying to find new, prepared people who have gospel interest and we are praying for our investigators that we have now to have their interests to turn towards the gospel. This week a lot of appointments fell through for some reason but we were able to still meet with a lot of people. We are constantly busy over here and I love it! Sometimes it is a little exhausting but the reward is so much better. I have been learning so much this transfer. I feel like just in the past few weeks I have become more and more humbled and more selfless. I didn’t know that it could happen because I thought I was pretty humble and selfless but I guess if I think that way then I’ve got A LOT to learn. ^^ I love that everyday is a growing experience. I know Heavenly Father knows what I need to learn.
I am so happy that little Elder Orme is becoming a district leader! That is so fantastic and I am soooo proud of my little brother for being so amazing! I am so grateful for him and all that he does for me. I am so grateful for my family and everything that they do for me! The love and support means more than anything in the whole world. I love my family and I am so grateful to be able to spend eternity with them.
This week I was assigned a talk in our cute little Daeshin Branch. There were a total of 11 members, 2 investigators (one of the elders and one of ours), and then of course 4 missionaries. I love Daeshin and I also love Keojeong. They are wonderful places to serve and the members are wonderful! I gave a talk about Humility and Obedience. What a pair. They go hand in hand with each other. I don’t have much time so I will just summarize some of the points I made. Two quotes I would like to share from my talk: “Obedience is the first law of Heaven. It is an act of faith. You may sometimes be required to do things you do not completely understand. As you obey, you increase in faith, knowledge, wisdom, testimony, protection, and freedom” (PMG forgot the page). I love this quote because it shows a lot of the blessings that we will receive when we are obedient. Who knew that protection and freedom would be some of the blessings. I though it was really neat that those are some of the blessings. When we are obedient we are more free and we will be protected by the Lord. Especially given protection and freedom from our contender Satan. Obedience shows Heavenly Father our willingness and our trust in him. God doesn’t give us commandments for himself. He gives them to us because he knows that we can learn and benefit from them. Another quote from PMG “The discipline contained in daily obedience and clean living and wholesome lives builds an armor around you of protection and safety from the temptations that beset you as you proceed throughout mortality”. Obedience is Protection! How can we be obedient? What will make us submissive enough to be obedient? That submissiveness is humility. Humility is not a weakness but a strength. As we strive to be more humble the more obedient and reliant on the Lord we become. I shared the story of Naaman the Leper. He was one of the kings favorites and he was a very good leader. He was told to go somewhere (sorry forgot!) and see the prophet Elisha. Elisha servant came out and told him to wash himself in the river 7 times and that he will be healed. Naaman was very miffed that the servant came out and not the actual prophet. Then Naaman’s servants told him that if that is what the prophet said he should do it, if he was told to do some great thing then he would do it, why not a simple thing. Naaman after listening to his servant went and washed himself. He became clean from his leprosy. What changed in Naaman’s attitude? What attribute did he have to apply in order to be healed. His heart had to be humbled and he had to be obedient in order to become clean. He was too proud before to go clean himself but then realized that if he obeyed he would be healed. Because he was obedient he was healed and a changed man. Does God need our humble heart and obedience? In my opinion, he doesn’t. We need it more than he does. He never will force us into submissiveness or humility it is ourselves that have to do that. He can change our circumstances and give us trials but we have to choose. I think that is a very loving Father. He wants to see what we will do. Are we willing enough to be humble and submit to all that He asks us? What things are we doing that cause to not be humble? How are we stopping God from giving us all the blessings? What do we need to do to become more humble?
I had a lot of reflection on that this week as I was preparing. What can we do more to be obedient and humble?  I know I have a lot to learn but I am learning so much at the same time. I am so grateful for Him. He knows who we are and what we need to learn and grow. Are we willing enough to do all that the Lord requires? Sometimes it requires sacrifices but what more can we give to the Lord than our own sacrifices and our hearts. Jesus Christ GAVE ALL. We can give our little and still be able to be blessed more and beyond then we could ever imagine. I know that to be true. God sees us working on it! He will bless you for it!
I LOVE YOU ALL SOOOOOO MUCH!!!!!!
Have a wonderful week!
Love Sister Orme
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

